Beautiful Waste

We have the ability to bring infinite joy or infinite sorrow to the heart of God.

This week at the YWAM SE Conference was amazing! I felt the presence of God so profoundly and personally. We spent the week in Talladega, AL with YWAMers from all over the Southeast. It was such a blessing being surrounded by people from different bases! The worship, led by Bryce Anderson, was filled with new and familiar songs and lots of jumping! I have never experienced such freedom in a worship service before; the atmosphere there was so freeing and joyful. I felt like I could truly worship God without any judgement or concern.

Aiden, Kayla, Sophia & I on our way to Talladega!

Aiden, Kayla, Sophia & I on our way to Talladega!

Jim Stier, the speaker this week, talked all about the Kingdom of God and having God’s will done on earth as it is in heaven. We learned that unless we experience the throne room for ourselves, how are we supposed to bring heaven to earth?! This is why we need to spend time with the Lord, seeking His face and His heart, getting closer to Him. The Kingdom on earth is not a physical establishment, rather it’s Jesus. We aren’t trying to just obey rules and follow laws, we are obeying Jesus and aiming to be more Christ-like and live a more God centered life.  We should be looking for a personal relationship with Him. When we live like that, when we live in the Word, we become the Word and, therefore, we can live in the Kingdom.

Quiet time by the lake

Quiet time by the lake

Jim also talked about how we are a delight to God! The deepest truth about us is not that we’re sinners. The deepest truth about us is that we are made in His image! We are a part of God’s family. If we spend time with Him and seek His face so that we can truly comprehend the affection He has for us, then we will constantly experience His delight in us. God has also made Himself vulnerable to us! We have the ability to bring Him joy or sorrow. Our love means so much to Him and we can love Him back by serving His needs and the desires of His heart. My job is to make God’s dreams come true.

This week, though tiring and eventful, was such a blessing. I couldn’t ask for a better base or friends to have experienced it with! My worship life is forever changed by the freedom I experienced there and the revelation that I will not let anyone’s opinions of me dictate how I worship MY JESUS!

I can’t believe that in just 12 days it will be Thanksgiving!! And it’s also less than a month until I will be HOME for Christmas 🙂 DTS is flying by, but I know the Lord still has so much to show and teach me while I’m here.

Leave a comment